Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Mahler: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 4
Product Type:Blu-ray Video
2.0 LPCM Stereo 24bit / 96kHz
5.0 DTS-HD MA 24bit / 96kHz
9.0 Auro-3D 24bit / 96kHz

This refers to the Blu-ray audio channels only


All prices incl. VAT, excl. shipping

Our online store is closed until December the 30th. 

In stock


Daniele Gatti and the RCO present an unconventional and thought-provoking approach to Mahler’s First and Fourth Symphonies. When the First was premiered in 1889, audiences were unprepared for Mahler’s bold orchestration, but the symphony gradually gained popularity. The Concertgebouw Orchestra, conducted by the composer himself, gave its Dutch premiere in 1903. Mahler was absolutely thrilled and exclaimed: “The musical culture in this country is overwhelming! How people can just listen!”. On 23 October 1904 Gustav Mahler conducted the Concertgebouw Orchestra again in his Fourth Symphony. The work was performed twice during the concert, once before and once after the intermission.


Symphony No. 1 in D major

  1. Langsam. Schleppend. – Immer sehr gemächlich
  2. Kräftig bewegt
  3. Feierlich und gemessen, ohne zu schleppen
  4. Stürmisch bewegt

Symphony No. 4 in G major

  1. Bedächtig. Nicht eilen – Rechtgemächlich
  2. In gemächlicher Bewegung. Ohne Hast
  3. Ruhevoll (poco adagio)
  4. Sehr behaglich
Weight: 0.2 kg
Classical, Symphonic

incl. Booklet in a slipcase